Margaret Tait Award 2019/20 Open for Nominations

LUX Scotland is pleased to announce that the call for nominations for the 2019/20 Margaret Tait Award opened on 15 October 2018. The Margaret Tait Award is Scotland’s most prestigious moving image prize for artists.

Inspired by the pioneering Orcadian filmmaker and poet, Margaret Tait (1918–99), the award recognises experimental and innovative artists working with the moving image, offering a unique avenue of commissioning and production support and providing a high-profile platform to exhibit newly commissioned work.

Established in 2010, the Margaret Tait Award is a LUX Scotland commission delivered in partnership with Glasgow Film, with support from Screen Scotland. The only award of its kind in Scotland, it allows LUX Scotland, Glasgow Film and Screen Scotland to make a lasting and meaningful impact on the careers of new filmmaking talent, support new commissions and forge new partnerships across the sector.

Each year, the award is presented to a Scottish or Scotland-based artist who has established a significant body of work over the past 5–12 years; is recognised by peers for their contribution to the artists’ moving image sector; and can demonstrate the significant impact that the award will have on the development of their practice. The recipient of the award will receive a £15,000 prize to produce ambitious new work, which is exhibited at the Glasgow Film Festival the following year and will subsequently tour with LUX Scotland.

Eligible artists are nominated through an open call process, which allows anyone (the general public, as well as arts professionals and artists) both within and out-with Scotland to put forward an artist. Nominations are assessed by a jury of artists and professionals from across the fields of the visual arts and cinema. Shortlisted artists are then asked to present proposals for the commission.

Alberta Whittle, recipient of the 2018/19 award, will present her new film at Glasgow Film Festival 2019. The 2019/20 award will be announced at this screening, and a reception for both Whittle and the 2019/20 recipient will be held afterwards.

Alberta Whittle, Recipient of 2018/2019 Margaret Tait Award

Alberta Whittle, Recipient of 2018/2019 Margaret Tait Award. Photo: Pete Copeland

Who can be nominated?

  • Artists who are Scottish and/or based in Scotland.
  • Artists who have developed a significant body of work over the past 5–12 years and are at the cusp of a major impact on the artists’ moving image sector.
  • Artists who are contributing to the critical context of artists’ moving image production in Scotland at the time of nomination.
  • There is no age restriction.
  • We regret that we cannot accept nominations of artists who are students.

How to nominate:

Please send 200 words on the artist’s career to date, their impact on the sector and your reasons for nominating. Please include a link to the artist’s website or an online example of their work, as well as the artist’s email address and phone number.

Nominations should be sent by email only to

Deadline for nominations is 9am on Monday 3 December 2018

The shortlist will be announced on Monday 17 December 2018.

The recipient of the 2019/20 Margaret Tait Award will be announced at Glasgow Film Festival 2019 (20 February – 3 March 2019).

Previous recipients have included Alberta Whittle, Sarah Forrest, Kate Davis, Duncan Marquiss, Charlotte Prodger, Rachel Maclean, Anne-Marie Copestake and Torsten Lauschmann.

"We are proud to lead the delivery of the Margaret Tait Award this year, working closely with artists to support the development of new trajectories of artistic research, the delivery of their vision for the commission and the subsequent touring and exhibition of work beyond its premiere at Glasgow Film Festival."

"The quality of the commissions that the award has enabled thus far is a testament to the incredible depth of moving image talent in Scotland, and we are excited to see what this year will bring. We’d encourage everyone to get involved in the nominations process by putting forward an artist they feel is deserving of this exceptional opportunity." Nicole Yip, Director of LUX Scotland

"We are delighted to have been the inaugural creators of the Margaret Tait Award, which has spotlighted talented and innovative filmmakers including Rachel Maclean, Florrie James and Duncan Marquiss."

"We are also pleased the prize which the winning artist will receive has been increased to £15,000, a change we worked to make happen, and which reflects the importance and considerable value of cultural work. Winners are also given a platform at Glasgow Film Festival with an audience of influential filmmakers and film lovers from around the world. We look forward to seeing this year's nominations." Allison Gardner, Programme Director at Glasgow Film

"Screen Scotland is delighted to be supporting the 10th edition of the Margaret Tait Award presented by LUX Scotland and Glasgow Film Festival. Over the past decade, the award has commissioned Scotland’s moving image artists to create work which has provided a significant opportunity to develop their practise and engage with audiences. We are excited to see what new and exciting work will be created." Sean Greenhorn, Screen Scotland

For more information, please contact:

Nicole Yip | | 07889 765441

Full details about the Margaret Tait Award can be found here: