Scottish talent in the British Independent Film Award nominations

The British Independent Film Awards highlight and reward the most innovative and creative independent filmmaking and filmmakers in the UK. BIFA identify and encourage emerging talent, support and celebrate the independent film community and promote British film and talent to the public.

This year, a fantastic amount of Scottish productions and talent have been recognised, from British Feature Film, to Casting and Make Up and Hair Design.

With an amazing ten nominations, Wild Rose is up for Best British Feature Film, with star Jessie Buckley receiving Best Actress nomination, Julie Walters receiving Best Supporting Actress, and writer Nicole Taylor receiving nominations for Best Screenplay and Debut Screenwriter.

Anna Mary Scott Robbins has been nominated for Best Costume Design, Jody Williams is recognised for Best Make Up and Hair Design, Jack Arnold is nominated for Best Music, and Lee Walpole, Colin Nicholson, and Stuart Hilliker for Best Sound - all for Wild Rose.

Kahleen Crawford has received two nominations for Best Casting, one for Wild Rose, and the other for Only You. Other nominees involved in Only You include Josh O'Connor for Best Actor, and Harry Wootliff for Debut Screenwriter and The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director).

A group of youths walk across a field carrying plastic bags in Beats

Still from BEATS, which has received five BIFA nominations

Paul Laverty has been nominated for Best Screenplay with Sorry We Missed You. First-time director, Ninian Doff has been nominated for The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director) with Boyz in the Wood.

Edlison Manuel Olbera Núñez is nominated for Best Supporting Actor in Yuli - The Carlos Acosta Story.

The team behind 90's coming-of-age drama, BEATS have also done incredibly well, with Kieran Hurley nominated for Debut Screenwriter, star Lorn Macdonald for Most Promising Newcomer, Benjamin Kracun for Best Cinematography.

Jd Twitch, Penelope Trappes, and Stephen Hindman received nominations for Best Music, and David Bowtle-Mcmillan, Joakim Sundström, and Robert Farr nominated for Best Sound for BEATS.

More information

The winners will be announced at the 22nd British Independent Awards ceremony on Sunday 1 December. Find out more at